26
Feb
08

What Happened to the Crocuses?

That was my horrified thought when I had a look at those presented in my last post. Not one single blossom was to be seen anymore. Vanished. Completely. So much for never having enough crocuses in my garden …

zerstorter-krokus.jpgSuspecting them before but without proof, now I’m sure: it was the slugs. As a result of the mild winter, the garden is full of baby slugs that are having a good time on my crocuses, particularly the yellow ones for some reason. Usually I’m rather careful with predictions, but it seems quite likely that this won’t be the last time that I lament about my slug problem this year.

1 Response to “What Happened to the Crocuses?”


  1. February 27, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Oh, how terrible! One thing I have learned as a gardener is a mild winter can be a curse as well as a blessing. You usually don’t find out about the cursed survivors of a mild winter until you see the damage they’ve wrought.


Leave a Reply

